Christmas in Cornwall: celebrate at our winter festival

If you're fed up of hibernating at home, celebrate with us at our winter festival. Meet Father Christmas and his real reindeer, go ice skating, explore our Enchanted Rainforest at twilight, listen to choirs and live storytelling, and pick up some great gifts in our shop.

Father Christmas in Eden Biome

Whether you're local or coming on holiday to spend Christmas in Cornwall, come to Eden to add sparkle to your winter. On many days during November and December 2014 we'll be open later into the evening, and you'll be able to enjoy a range of festive treats, from our new Enchanted Rainforest experience to ice skating. 

Dates, times and price

  • Dates and times: Selected dates from Saturday 29 November 2014 to Sunday 4 January 2015. Not all activities will be available every day: see full timetable below.
  • Price: included in normal Eden admission price (except the Father Christmas experience and ice skating, which are priced separately)

Winter festival activities

  • Visit Father Christmas and real reindeer: We welcome the man in red himself and his furry friends on selected days from 29 November to 24 December. This year he'll be telling a brand-new spellbinding story in an enchanting show that will delight children and big kids alike. Find out more and book online.
  • NEW FOR 2014: Walk Through the Enchanted Rainforest: A Theatre of Christmas Memories: our unique combination of live performance, installations, soundscapes and beautiful lighting will make this a Christmas to remember! A cargo ship carrying Christmas memories and a crew of caretakers of those precious memories has run aground in the Biome and spilled them across the rainforest. Take a wander and encounter the crew and the memories, from school nativity plays to Christmas food, TV and, of course, weather. This new experience (The Yule-tide Ark-ive) is brought to you by our talented friends at Wildworks theatre company.
  • Ice skating: our magical ice rink is back. Find out about the sessions we offer and when the rink is open.
  • Storytelling: wonderful festive stories from our fabulous storytellers - see below for times.
  • Christmas craft workshops: inside our Mediterranean Biome you can make elf hats (plus ears), clothes peg reindeer heads (great for holding photos) and candy cane mice. And, for older children and adults there is an opportunity to custom-make beautiful gift tags. See below for times.
  • Cornish choirs: listen to traditional Christmas carols sung in our Mediterranean Biome by choirs from across Cornwall at 1pm on the following days:
    • 29 Nov, Rock Choir; 30 Nov, The Perraners; 6 Dec, Java 5; 7 Dec, Looe Valley Singers; 13 Dec, Liskeard Ladies; 14 Dec, The Suitcase Singers plus friends; 20 Dec, Truro Choral Society; 21 Dec, Champagne Cornwall; 22 Dec, Brixham Harmony Singers; 23 Dec, inTune Choir; 27 Dec, Carclaze Community Choir; 28 Dec, TBC; 29 Dec, TBC; 30 Dec, Canticorum Choir.
  • Delicious food and drink: check out our menu of tasty winter warmers.

Full timetable

For full details of Father Christmas sessions, visit this page.

Date Father Christmas (first and last session start times) Enchanted Rainforest Craft workshops Storytelling
Sat 29 Nov 12.30pm/7.30pm 4-8pm 12-7.30pm 12, 2, 3 & 6pm
Sun 30 Nov 10.30pm/6.30pm 4-7pm  12-6.30pm 12, 2, 3 & 5pm 
Fri 5 Dec  12.30pm/6.30pm 4-7pm  12-6.30pm 12, 2, 3 & 5pm 
Sat 6 Dec  12.30pm/7.30pm 4-8pm  12-7.30pm 12, 2, 3 & 6pm 
Sun 7 Dec  10.30pm/6.30pm  4-7pm  12-6.30pm  12, 2, 3 & 5pm 
Fri 12 Dec  12.30pm/6.30pm 4-7pm   12-6.30pm  12, 2, 3 & 5pm 
Sat 13 Dec  12.30pm/7.30pm  4-8pm  12-7.30pm  12, 2, 3 & 6pm 
Sun 14 Dec 10.30pm/6.30pm  4-7pm  12-6.30pm  12, 2, 3 & 5pm 
Mon 15 Dec 12.30pm/6.30pm  4-7pm  12-6.30pm  12, 2, 3 & 5pm 
Tues 16 Dec  12.30pm/6.30pm  4-7pm 12-6.30pm  12, 2, 3 & 5pm 
Wed 17 Dec  12.30pm/6.30pm 4-7pm  12-6.30pm 12, 2, 3 & 5pm 
Thurs 18 Dec  12.30pm/6.30pm  4-7pm  12-6.30pm 12, 2, 3 & 5pm 
Fri 19 Dec  12.30pm/7.30pm  4-8pm  12-7.30pm  12, 2, 3 & 6pm 
Sat 20 Dec  10.30pm/7.30pm  4-8pm  12-7.30pm  12, 2, 3 & 6pm 
Sun 21 Dec  10.30pm/7.30pm  4-8pm  12-7.30pm  12, 2, 3 & 6pm 
Mon 22 Dec 10.30pm/7.30pm  4-8pm  12-7.30pm  12, 2, 3 & 6pm 
Tues 23 Dec  10.30pm/7.30pm  4-8pm  12-7.30pm 12, 2, 3 & 6pm 
Wed 24 Dec  10.30pm/3.30pm    12-3.30pm  12 & 2pm
Fri 26 Dec   4-6pm  12-5.30pm  12, 2 & 3pm 
Sat 27 Dec    4-6pm  12-5.30pm  12, 2 & 3pm 
Sun 28 Dec    4-6pm  12-5.30pm  12, 2 & 3pm 
Mon 29 Dec    4-6pm  12-5.30pm  12, 2 & 3pm 
Tues 30 Dec    4-6pm  12-5.30pm  12, 2 & 3pm 
Wed 31 Dec      12-3.30pm 12 & 2pm 
Thurs 1 Jan      12-5.30pm  12 & 2pm 
Fri 2 Jan      12-5.30pm  12 & 2pm 
Sat 3 Jan      12-5.30pm  12 & 2pm 
Sun 4 Jan      12-5.30pm  12 & 2pm