Tuesday, February 15, 2011 - 11:33

Fleet Foxes and Villagers are the first acts to be announced for the 2011 Eden Sessions and will play a show on Friday July 1.

The harmonic Seattle six-piece will play Eden off the back of their much-anticipated second album Helplessness Blues, which is due to be released on May 2.

Helplessness Blues follows Fleet Foxes’ hugely successful eponymous 2008 debut and their Sun Giant EP of the same year, which spawned their most successful single to date, Mykonos.

The first album hit number 3 in the UK charts and was lauded with almost universal critical acclaim. The influential music trade magazine Billboard named it album of the year in their 2008 Critics’ Choice awards.

Fleet Foxes blend West Coast harmonies with a European baroque sensibility and many have drawn comparisons with legendary acts such as Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young and the Beach Boys. The band themselves have described their sound as “baroque, harmonic pop jams”.

Fleet Foxes have made the title-track of the album available for download at their website Fleet Foxes is Robin Pecknold, Skyler Skjelset, Christian Wargo, Casey Wescott, Josh Tillman and Morgan Henderson.

Dublin folk collective Villagers come to the Eden Sessions following the release of their debut record Becoming a Jackal which bagged a Mercury Prize nomination last year and hit the top of the UK Indie and Irish album charts. Villagers were also nominated in the Breakthrough Artist category of last year’s Q Awards.

Tjarko Wieringa, Eden Sessions Creative Director, said: “Fleet Foxes have created a unique, unmistakable sound and their beautiful harmonies will make for a very atmospheric show in the shadow of the Biomes. Following their Mercury nomination, Villagers are definitely a band to get excited about and their sound will complement the headliners perfectly.

“We’re really excited about our upcoming announcements too and our tenth year is set to be a very special one. We’re talking to some amazing acts and we’re confident that this summer will see us capture the spirit of the best Eden Sessions. Look out for more announcements very soon.”

The Eden Sessions are now in their tenth year. Performers in previous years include Oasis, Kasabian, Mumford & Sons, Florence and the Machine, Muse, Paul Weller, Jack Johnson, Hot Chip, Snow Patrol, Moby, PJ Harvey, The Verve, Chase & Status and many more.

There are still some places left on Eden’s Inside Track programme, which gives members a guaranteed pair of tickets to each gig as well as the opportunity to hear Sessions announcements before the general public.

Inside Track participants have a week to decide whether they want to buy their tickets before they go on general sale. Memberships can be bought at or through the Eden box office on 01726 811972.

Tickets for Fleet Foxes Eden Session cost £37.50 plus booking fee and will go on sale to Inside Track members at 6pm on Tuesday February 15 and then on general release at 6pm on Friday February 18. Tickets are available from the Eden box office on 01726 811972.

You can follow the Eden Sessions on Facebook at and on Twitter on